5th Email from Provo, Utah, MTC

August 12, 2014

Hey Mom!

I’m glad to see you’re doing well!

I got my travel itinerary this week!!! I leave next Tuesday, and arrive in Lisbon at 6:05pm. Crazy huh!

So I read about your anniversary date and couldn’t stop thinking that a temple date is the coolest thing ever!!! I want to thank both of you for being such amazing parents and examples to me. I want to have an eternal marriage that is as good as yours someday (When I’m done with my mission, of course.)

I’m glad to hear Austin’s talk went well. He’s always been a champ. 9th grade year when I came to a new school and nobody else knew me, Austin was in 5 out of my 6 classes. It’s no mystery how we became such good friends. Tell him I miss him for me if you see him!

This week was pretty much the same. The MTC is still awesome as ever! (Though the food is still far inferior to your food, Mother….) The Language is coming along slowly. But I realized that Heavenly Father must have a lot of faith in me, because I have the least amount of language training in my district. One sister is fluent in French and has been taking it since she was 6. Another sister’s father speaks Portuguese and taught her a lot before she left. One Elder speaks French and Latin and Greek, and his companion speaks fluent Spanish, German, French, (English), and now Portuguese! Elder L took 2 years of high school Spanish and I took one. As I considered this though, I realized that it’s not really a matter of Heavenly Father having faith in me, for faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things, but to hope for things which are not seen. Heavenly Father knows me and knows what I will do. It doesn’t matter that I only took one year of Spanish; the Lord called me to this mission and knows that I will be able to do it, for he will provide a way. 1 Nephi 3:7

I don’t want to share the details of this experience, but last night Elder L and I were talking to each other from our respective beds, the lights out, and I felt impressed to tell him about a talk I had decided to study during personal study a couple hours before. It was from Elder Bednar’s talk “Becoming a Preach My Gospel missionary. After I finished talking there was a slight pause and my companion replied, “Can I just say you answered my prayer?” I was speechless and amazed. I was able to be able to be an instrument in the Lord’s hands.

I just love receiving emails from everyone, even though I don’t always have any time to reply. Know that I’m trying though. A mission is the greatest thing I’ve ever done. It’s so much fun and builds my testimony every day, “line upon line, precept upon precept.” Deus quer o que ê o melhor para nós. Ele vai respostar as nossas orações.

That’s about all I have for this week. Thanks for everything, Mom and Dad.

Eu amo vocês!

Elder Zwahlen

Devotional Quotes:

“Great moments can happen when preparation meets opportunity.” – T.C.Christensen

“Those you teach will care a whole lot more about who you are and what you are then what you ever say.” – Elder Bednar, “The Character of Christ”

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

