Health Issues for Companion

September 15, 2014 north of Lisbon

Hey Mom!

So, I tried to send some pictures but the computer won’t let me, so maybe I’ll be able to send some next week….

That’s sooo wonderful that you and Dad sang in church! How cute haha! And of course I know that song [In the Hollow of Thy Hand, by Janice Kapp Perry]. I started singing it to myself while I was reading your letter. I grew up on those songs, with Amy and Zach playing and singing them.

One thing that’s weird about Portugal is a lot of people don’t have cell phones or home phones. They just can’t afford them. And a lot of people that do, have really ghetto ones like the ones nobody even has in the states anymore, ie flip phones and bricks. I’ve seen very few smart phones around here.

That must have been fun to see the Woods! We haven’t seen them for a while! Also, congratulations to Aiden turning 14 and becoming a Teacher! That’s sooooo cool! Also, I’m glad the choir is doing well! I had such a fun time being the director!

The two main ways that I’ve had bacalhau is breaded and with cheesy potatoes. Breaded is pretty good but it’s really stringy fish for some reason. Fish should never be stringy I decided. The other way is called Bacalhau com Natas. It’s pretty much funeral potatoes with chunks of bacalhau more or less, and it’s also pretty good. I miss fish like Salmon though. I’m not quite sure if it exists yet….

I got the letter from you and Madison when I was down in Lisbon this week! Thanks to you both! But I didn’t get Amy’s package; hopefully I’ll get that soonish.

It’s been hard to get hold of our new investigators because they’ve been gone a lot this week, and so have we actually. We went down to Lisbon on Tuesday for an exam for Elder D, and the hospital couldn’t schedule him in. Wednesday, we found another hospital that would do it at 8:00pm so we did that. We stayed another night and then took a bus back at 5pm.

So the Mission Office and chapel is the first floor of an apartment building, and one of the rooms above is rented out by missionaries. The part of Lisbon that it’s in is called Benfica, so they call this missionary apartment “The Hotel Benfica” because if you need to stay in Lisbon for something you sleep there. All I can say is it is REALLY messy and it’s got 7-8 beds packed into one room. It looks like hospital beds in there, with somebody else’s sheets and pillow. It was quite the experience. But I lived with the four Office Elders for a couple days and they’re all pretty funny.

Elder D is having a really hard time with his health and so he might have to go home a week early, we’ll just have to see. If he does, then I’ll get pulled out for a week and it’ll be “white washed,” but we’ll just have to wait and see how things work out. Sometimes I really wish we had bikes, because we have to walk so far to get to some places, and I actually heard of a couple of areas that were allowed to get bikes! But it would be very difficult to contact people while riding a bike, I’ll admit.

So I really wanted to make that cilantro rice this week, but I don’t know how to find cilantro in the store because I don’t know what it’s called in Portuguese! So maybe you could google translate it or something for me? Haha. [Note to Cory: Google translation says cilantro is coentro in Portuguese]

Anyway, I’ve got to run! Hopefully the computer will let me send some pictures next time!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

