August 22, 2014 Third Companion for Elder Zwahlen

Enjoying the view of Portugal coastline

Enjoying the view of Portugal coastline

A Fisherman and a Fisher of Men

A Fisherman and a Fisher of Men

If you can read this, you know Portuguese!

If you can read this, you know Portuguese!

August 22, 2014 north of Lisbon

Hey Dad!

It’s great to hear from you again!

So, the big news of the week is Elder D actually got transferred to the Mission office for his last week and I got a new companion, Elder B! He’s a Portuguese native!!!!! Hopefully I’ll learn the language quickly and get a sick accent too! We will see I guess! He’s very different from Elder S and Elder D. And it’s new experience for me helping someone speak English, haha! But he still speaks English better than I speak Portuguese. He’s currently the only native Portuguese missionary here! I’m really lucky to be learning from him. It’s gonna be a fun transfer!

I’m glad Aiden and Madison are doing well and loving band. I haven’t found an opportunity to play any brass instrument here, but I’m still hoping. I wasn’t even sure if they had brass here until I actually saw some high school age students marching with instruments in an empty parking lot. I found out that in schools they don’t have marching band, but the Bombeiros–fire fighters–actually teach kids how to march and play music. Unfortunately, they sounded really bad, haha! I can’t wait to play at BYU. The more I’m away from marching band the more I miss it…. I’ll just have to live this passion through Madison and soon, Aiden. Tell Madison good luck at the marching competition!

Oh, and tell Sister Smith I love and miss her and I hope the move goes well! Have you gotten her out to church or the temple yet? I miss the temple so much here and it’s so sad that members can’t go whenever they want. And we take our giant wards back home for granted. Here a stake is simply massive. It takes hours by train to go from one side of it to the other. I realized that back home, we can literally walk through 3 different stakes in less than 10 minutes. CRAZY!!! You can literally walk to the temple! It’s so different here. And it’s not like most of these people have extra money or time lying around that would allow them to just get up and go to Spain to do a temple session. Take advantage of the temple and appreciate a big, strong ward with incredible members.

MOTHER: It’s great to hear that you’re back in school again. I wish you the best. I’d say study hard and do well, but you always do that anyway!

Oh, and as a side note, I’m angry with Zach for not telling me that he’s getting an iPhone 6!!! I just heard from a member that it comes out next month! All three of my companions so far have no idea what SNAPCHAT is, and 2 of them were from the states. I just could hardly believe how behind on technology they were. They also were very inept with computers. I really, really don’t want that to happen to me. I’ve actually commissioned Zach to give me a technology update every so often.

MOM: I got the package from Amy! It was very thoughtful!!! Also, I’m way excited for conference, but we’ll see how much I understand because it will all be in Portugese, haha!

Love you Dad!
Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

