Temptation & Rainy-day Soccer

Dumpster easy chair SMALL

November 3, 2014 Portugal

Hey!
So, most of Halloween here is at school–the little kids dress up and they have candy and stuff–but Elder B said he’s lived in Portugal his whole life and never saw a “trick-or-treater.” When we were walking back to the house though, we actually saw some kids going around and knocking on doors and stuff. Elder B couldn’t believe it, haha!

• You asked about Porto, it is the second biggest city in Portugal.
• Probably was F. [A newly baptized member, in a photo].
• I just found it and took a picture with the couch to send to my friends that’s all. [Answer to a question about a photo of Cory with a couch by a dumpster]

Dad: I’m glad you’re still finding projects to do to keep yourself busy. I will be honest, I really wasn’t very interested in Family History before the mission, but I’ve realized a lot more how important it is! I will probably take it up after the mission. You’ll have to show me the ropes.
Questions:
1. Which cheesecake recipe is the best?
2. Could you guys send me my line of authority? That would be awesome!

So, in my personal study, I found something that made me think of Aiden [little brother]. I know he always steals a lot and I was reading in Jesus the Christ and it talks about the Lord’s Prayer. In part of it, Christ says: “And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.” James E. Talmage says that it doesn’t make sense for someone who has a penchant for stealing things to pray for help and then go and put himself into a situation where he knows he will be able to steal something.

Now, remember in 1 Corinthians 10, we learn that God will not tempt us more than we are able to bear.
So, what Aiden needs to do is pray for the help to resist temptation (stealing things), then do his very best to never put himself in a situation or place where he could be tempted. Talmage expounds that we will encounter those situations even if we try to avoid them, but if we pray sincerely for help and do everything we can, we will have power to resist temptation.

I’ve learned that even though the fall of Adam was central to the plan of Salvation, God never wants us to sin. Instead, God prepared a way–an Atonement–and a Savior for us in the event that we gave into temptation and sinned. How merciful is it! Really, it is the great plan of happiness!

Transfers are next week, I really don’t know if I will stay in this city or go somewhere else. There’s something interesting that I’ve never heard of before that I call “transfer gossip.” It’s like, everyone, about 2 weeks before the transfers starts talking to everyone else and telling them that they heard from the zone leaders that someone will stay or go or something. Others say that the president told them that these changes will happen or the Assistants said something and some people just love it. For me, it’s easier just to wait and see so I don’t have to worry about it. It is really funny to see how much false information gets circulated though, even in the mission.

So, today for P-day it was raining so Elder B and I moved everything to the sides of the living room and then played soccer in our apartment…. Sorry mom, I forgot about the no balls in the house rule, but hey, it was P-Day 🙂

Love,
Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

