Greenies on the Loose!

IMG_0396

November 10, 2014 Portugal

Hey!

So, I was transferred today to a little city on the far east side of Portugal. Just like my previous city, it has a really small branch of about 20 members. The work here, from what I’ve heard is difficult, but I guess if it were easy it wouldn’t be work. My companion is ELDER DV, and he’s from Cape Verde and doesn’t speak a lick of English. So, it’ll be interesting ๐Ÿ™‚
I don’t have my address right now so I’ll send it to you next week. Also, it is really cold here and it’s rained all day and apparently it’s about like every other day. Yay!!!

Greenies on the Loose!
So, something cool that happened this last week was district divisions. Normally, the senior companions stay in their areas and the junior comps get sent to other areas for divisions. Well, this time, I went to Leiria with Elder J, who only has one transfer here in Portugal so we were both Greenies, and I was the senior companion! We didn’t have any firm appointments, just random people from the area to go visit. We pretty much tried everyone we had planned to visit with little success, so the only thing left to do was contact–EVERYONE. So we contacted almost every person in the street and also knocked doors. Both of us wanted to teach a lesson sooooooo bad and we were praying so hard. We were about to give up on a street when we decided to knock one more not-so-promising door. A man opened the door and I introduced us as disciples of Jesus Cristo and told him that we had a message that would bless him and his family. Without hesitation he invited us in and we sat down and taught him the first lesson. He agreed to read and pray and was sooooo ELECT!

It was a testimony-builder for me that God really does know who he wants in his church and he will lead us to those people if we are seeking his guidance.

Anyway, we’ll see what God has in store for me this transfer.

Love you all!

Elder Zwahlen

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS:
1. Did you get the Birthday package yet?
Yes, I did. I LOVED IT! It was perfect! Ties are great, the letters were thoughtful, and the photos were fabulous! Also, I made the brownies and we ate them at F and R’s house ๐Ÿ™‚ although I used butter instead of oil because we didn’t have any and I think I cooked them a liiiiiittle too long haha!

2. How far away do your zone leaders live?
Our zone leaders live in Coimbra. I know my new place is like nowhere near there so it’s pretty far I think.

3. Have you been to any zone or mission conferences yet?
We have a zone conference every month and so I’ve been to a few. Actually, my FAVORITE MISSIONARY, Elder S, who was my first trainer, is now my zone leader in Coimbra, so I’ll probably get to “division it up” with him. So I’m pretty excited.

4. Have you seen any of your MTC group since you have been in Portugal?
Yes, I had one Sister who was in the same district the whole time I’ve been here, and so I saw her every week. Also two others were in my zone. But because of transfers I have no idea any more.

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

