Preach My Gospel

Transfer1 pic1 small

November 17, 2014

Hey Mom and Dad!

Before I forget, here are the answers to your questions, mother:
Thermals would be swell.
Elder DV speaks Portuguese but his Native Language is Crioulo, which is similar to Portuguese, but has some differences. I don’t understand any of it though.

So, probably the coolest thing that happened this week is we went to Porto to hear Elder Quinten L. Cook speak to just the missionaries! It was amazing! He gave a talk and opened it up to questions! We also got to hear from the area seventy of Portugal and President and Sister Fluckiger. A theme I took from it was how obedience is the key to success. Also, Elder Cook said that President Hinckley said this, “Tell the missionaries if they have more faith, they will have more success.” The whole conference was way cool and way inspiring! We had to sleep at another Elders’ house overnight in Porto, and that was not very fun actually. There were 8 missionaries in the smallest Elder’s apartment I have ever seen, and all I had was a bed sheet I found, my jacket, and a pillow. Luckily I brought my pillow, but even so, it was quite the experience.

Dad,
Ya, at least I don’t have snow, right?! It feels really cold at times, but I realized I can put on a jacket or two and feel warm. In Idaho, you can wear 10 jackets and still be cold, haha! I hope Madison did well at Gem State, it’s just one really cool opportunity that most of the world doesn’t have.

I was actually going to ask you about Tuba Christmas the other day to remind you guys to start practicing, but it looks like the work has already begun! I’m just amazed how busy you guys are! And now you have to take on a lot of the responsibilities that Mom doesn’t have time for anymore [with school].

I would like to read all of the standard works at least once on my mission, but even with an hour of personal study each day, I always feel like there are more effective study habits than just reading.

You guys are not just reading, but STUDYING Preach My Gospel! What a great idea! I honestly wish I would have studied it more before the mission. Elder Cook had some great insights about PMG because he was the executive for it or something like that. He said President Hinckley told him and the board to “Write it in such a way that it cannot be memorized.” It really is a study tool, not a teaching agenda. Also, he told us that if we are not ready to start with lesson 2, instead of lesson 1, then we are not using PMG the way it was intended. Very interesting. I’m glad Aiden eventually adjusted, this will be a profound preparation for him.

Love,
Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

