Challenge to Baptism

Jan 2015 p1
February 9, 2015

Hey Mom!

Answers:
1. I actually haven’t tried the McD’s card yet, but I will when I get a chance; it’s really far away from our house. I feel like it should work here. I don’t know why it wouldn’t but we’ll see.
2. Elder W is from New York, but he grew up in Georgia.
3. He’s been a member his whole life. His dad is a white American and served his mission in Brazil. There his father met a Brazilian girl and later married her back in the states. He doesn’t actually speak Portuguese but he understands it REALLY well! Much better than I did when I got here. Probably because as he was growing up he would often hear his parents talking Portuguese. He said they would still do it when he was older when they didn’t want him to understand what they were saying hahaha!!!
His mother speaks perfect English.
4. I don’t know yet. We just get along pretty good. He’s a really sick [great] kid!
5. He has 4 brothers and 1 sister.
6. 7. He’s truly just a nice kid. Loves the gospel. Loves his family. Loves the people. Is really bomb at understanding Portuguese, and is really excited about the work. It’s a privilege to serve with him.

So, me and Elder W didn’t get back to our apartment until Friday night because both of his suitcases got lost and didn’t make it to Portugal until a day later. But luckily everything worked out and we were able to get back and do some work. When we got into our área, we had an awesome lesson with our Progressing Investigator, I_! I’ve never tried this before but we brought a baptismal calênder to the appointment and were able to mark her for Feburary 22! It should be super cool if everything works out because our plan is to have the baptism directly after Stake Conference, so there should be TONS of people there!!! You know Elder W is gonna be a really good missionary if he marks a person on his first day in the field!

We’ve been talking to TONS of people in the street. We found this one guy from India who didn’t speak really good Portuguese or English, just some of both so we talked to him in both languages. I told him I’d say a prayer in English and Elder W could say one in Portuguese to practice. It was seriously like the worst prayer EVER!!! When I closed my eyes and sought inspiration the only words that came to my mind were in Português! That was the second time in the last seven months that I’d said a prayer in English and it was super awkward! I think I’ll just stick to Português from now on.

Love,

Elder Zwahlen

QUESTIONS:
1. Did you use the McDonald’s gift card?
2. Where is Elder W from?
3. Is he a convert?
4. What do you and Elder W have in common?
5. Does Elder W have siblings?
6. What are Elder W’s strengths as a missionary?

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

