Celebrating A Baptism

020215

February 23, 2015 Portugal

Hey Mom!

The Baptism went really well! There were TONS of people there because it was after stake conference; even Mission President and Sister Fluckiger were there! The baptism and preparation were both full of miracles. A_ was not able to come, but we did have 4 other investigators there, which is AWESOME! Yes, this is my second baptism, and the first for Elder W.

Dinner with the Branch President and A_ went really well. We’re trying to get dinner set up again for tonight, but we’ll see if it happens. The Branch President’s wife made some omelet things, some with vegetables and others with tuna. We also had some fresh orange juice and a lot of the spirit.

Elder W is doing pretty good. I think we’re having fun. This transfer is really flying by. I’ve really enjoyed cooking too. Normally we just have rice with beans and\or some kind of meat. Elder W doesn’t really cook anything yet, but he’ll learn. My cookies, btw, were pretty good. I just doubled the baking powder and doubled the butter to make up for the things I didn’t have. Also, I couldn’t find chocolate chips because they don’t even sell them here. Who knew!?

Haha, your cookie story reminded me that I didn’t ask a single person to bring refreshments after the baptism but like afterwards we literally had tables full of food!!! People had brought sandwiches with meat and cheese, rice, chicken, chips, cookies, mini hot dogs, juice, Portuguese egg desserts, and way more! I guess it’s just an expected thing here that after a baptism you bring a bunch of food! It’s awesome! Who knew!?

And I already know your ginger snaps were WAAAAAAAY better. I tell everyone you’re like the best cook in the world 🙂

Thanks for everything! Love you all!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

