Transferred to the Islands

Funchal Madeira 042715

April 27, 2015 Funchal, Madeira

Hey!!!

So, you’ll never guess where I am right now!!! I actually got transferred to the islands of MADEIRA!!!!! It is seriously like the sweetest place EVER and I am super pumped to work here! I’ll be serving in a really big city called Funchal with 2 other Elders and 2 sisters. It’s seriously way cool. You can see the ocean from our apartment window! Although I’m really, really excited for this change, I was a little sad to leave some of my beloved investigators and members behind. But I know the Elders will continue to help them stay strong and hopefully get baptized. Anyway, I wasn’t able to get too many pictures of where I’m at but you guys seriously need to google map it. It’s actually way far away from Portugal, laterally level with Africa, I think. It was about a 1 1/2 hour plane ride. It’s pretty humid here and a little hot but it also looks like a pretty busy place!

I also kind of miss my second greenie, Elder T. I forgot to write about him so I’ll just tell you a little right now. First of all, he was super quirky. He could sing every song from every musical you could name. He has a memorized poem for everything. He does long division to stay awake during general conference. We got along really well and had lots of fun working together. He’ll be a great missionary.

I don’t know too much about my new comp yet other than that he seems way cool. He was actually a surfer from California before the mission and is in his 3rd transfer. He’s already been here in Funchal for 1 transfer. He’s a pretty chill guy so I think we’ll get along just great.

Also, this last month we have had to teach a class every week at church. Normally, we taught our investigators, recent converts, and less-actives returning to activity. Yesterday, though, there were very few men there and so we actually had to teach the youth. It was pretty cool because the lesson was about how they can learn to TEACH the apostasy and the restoration. So we first went over the 2 topics and then we did role-play practices as if they were missionaries. It all turned out quite well. One of the teenagers who is planning on serving a mission (there’s never been a youth to leave that city and serve a mission yet) said to us afterwards that it was weird because he’d never been “on the other side before.” It is quite a bit different on the other side, haha!

Anyway, I really don’t have too much to say this week other than that there are WAY more people her in Funchal than in my last area, haha! Albeit, there are a lot of tourists from all around the world, but I’m pretty excited to have some new stomping grounds. It got to where I couldn’t walk around for over an hour without seeing someone I knew or had contacted 🙂

Thanks for all your love and support. Everything is awesome!

Love,

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

