Helping People Find God

This is NOT Kansas!

This is NOT Kansas!

May 18, 2015, Funchal, Madeira

Hey Mom and Dad!

I’m still doing well in Funchal! I told you last week that we went to the Pizza Hut Buffet last week and it was terrible. Yeah, I had headaches for 3 days after, but I’m good now. Today we went to a sushi buffet, but I withheld a little bit and did not eat too much 🙂 P-days on Madeira are always so much fun.

So early this week we went to find a member’s house with a son who’s not a member. Well, even though we had been there once we accidentally got off too early, at the wrong stop. We still had hopes of finding it so we just started hiking up the mountain. We asked a man for some directions and he turned out to be super cool and spoke really good English. We said a prayer with him and got his number before leaving. Later we marked a visit with him, but he called us on Saturday and told us that he was at the church right then and wanted to see if we could come by and talk. We showed up, went in the church and started teaching him. We found out that he was searching for God in his life and was wondering why certain things were happening in his life the way they were, because he felt he couldn’t serve God as well like this. We were able to answer his questions with the Book of Mormon and had a really powerful lesson with him. Unfortunately he didn’t come to church but we’ll have to change that, haha!

We’re also working with an African teenager named L_. He’s the son of a recent convert and is just awesome!!! We pretty much asked him why he wants to be part of this church and he just said “Because I know the church is true and I know that God exists.” It was really powerful and me and Elder P just waited in silence and enjoyed the spirit for a little while.

We also played Soccer with a bunch of the teenagers from the Branches and their friends and they’re all waaay good! Elder P is one of those Athletes that’s far too good at everything, so I was kind of running around not knowing exactly what I was doing (in proselyting clothes because it was un-planned). Still, it was really fun!

So the pulgas (or fleas) are pretty much all gone (they weren’t bed bugs after all). I still get a few bites, but if you had seen what I got before, you’d think I had a terrible disease! The bug man has come twice and drenched EVERYTHING! We couldn’t even be in the house for a few hours. But anyway, it’s pretty much solved for now.

Your family history adventure sounds really exciting! My current plan is to really get more into it when I get home. On Sunday we had a lady get up there and talk a LONG time about family history and chastised everyone who wasn’t doing it, haha! She talked for so long the bishop told her wrap it up. She reminded the members that one of the reasons that Portugal doesn’t have a temple yet is because of the lack of names that are being submitted by the members. Portugal can’t and won’t have a temple until it starts doing its part of the work of Salvation.

Dad, I’m glad you’re switching it up a little on the shoes. My Eccos are actually doing pretty well. They’re all starting to crack a little, but as Zach said have really worn pretty good.

Elder P was sick and throwing up yesterday so we had to stay in the house. So, as a break from studying I tried to make toffee! Well, I evidently didn’t get it quite hot enough so it didn’t really work out like I had planned….It made really good caramel, though!!!

By the way, I’ve started a really organized way of studying recently by topic. So I pick a topic, then I have a definition, scriptures and what they’re about, quotes by prophets, bubble maps or visual aids, and then application and goals. It’s kind of “Sister-like,” but I hope it’ll help give a goal for each study, rather than just reading or looking up scriptures. That’s the hope anyway; we’ll have to wait and see how it works out. Dad, I liked your little talk excerpt about power and honor. It’s funny, I remember you telling me about that over year ago. It was a rather deep doctrinal discussion we were having. It was great! And I’m glad you used it in a talk, I’m sure there were a lot of people in the meetings that learned things that they’ll never forget like I did a good while ago.

I love you all so much! Have a wonderful week!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

