2nd Birthday as a Missionary in Portugal

Leiria p2SMALL

October 5, 2015 Leiria, Portugal

Hey Mom and Dad!

This week was great! We did a lot of cool things!

My birthday package you sent came this week! Thank you soooo much; it was wonderful! Obviously, I couldn’t wait and so I already opened it šŸ™‚ Everything was in it and it was so thoughtful. We already made the Jell-O pudding which seriously tastes like America! We made it and crunched American Oreos over the top and brought it to dinner with a member family and the sisters. Everyone loved it. They were surprised to know it only took 5 minutes to make, haha! We made something with the Italian spice the other day too, but it gave us instant heartburn, so we’ll have to figure something else out next time, hehe!

I did a division back in my first area! It was super cool to work really hard in my greenie area. I even got to see a super cool recent convert couple from there again! We also visited some less-active members that I used to know, whom the current Elders had never visited. They were really happy to see me! Especially one really old lady – she recognized me from the moment she saw me! It was crazy because when I knew this lady, I didn’t even speak Portuguese! It was a really fun division and truly a blast from the past.

We had zone conference this week with President Amorim! President Amorim gave some really good training on how to teach the first lesson very simply and powerfully, that was really awesome. We also learned how to help the members do their missionary work using people they already know; really sweet. I also had an interview with President Amorim. He is a very inspired man, and a little intimidating, haha!

GENERAL CONFERENCE was awesome! We were actually able to get our Brazilian investigator to the Sunday morning session. We got her next to a simply incredible recent convert and I think they hit it off pretty well šŸ™‚ We might give her to the sisters just because they can actually teach her without another man; we’ll see.

Also, I know the 3 new apostles are called of God. My first thoughts about each of them were that they are YOUNG, POWERFUL, and DIRECT–exactly what the world and the members of the church need right now.

But other than that, we’re just trying to get everything done that we have to and cut out the things that waste time.

I love you Mom and Dad. Keep up the good work!

Love,

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

