God Guides Our Path

Leiria p3SMALL

September 28, 2015, Leiria, Portugal

Hey Mom and Dad!

I actually hadn’t heard about Elder Scott’s passing… I heard from a Sister missionary that they haven’t called 3 apostles at the same general conference since 1906!

My suit jacket that tore was not one of the ones I brought, nor did I buy it here. I found it in the Castelo Branco house and it fit pretty well, so I bought some pants for 12 Euros that were the same color and I started using that. Pretty cheap right? Ya, it’s sort of mendable; I think I’ll see if I can get a member to fix it. It’s kind of annoying though, because most of the members live in the Sisters’ area which is a long way from where we normally work :/

Elder M likes baseball and soccer. He is thinking about being a writer. He went to Desert Oasis High School in Vegas, I think. Other than that, he likes to work, so we’re pretty chill!

As far as a specific Christlike attribute that I am studying this transfer, I haven’t really chosen one, but I’ll choose one this week and start applying it because that is a wonderful idea.

This week went really fast! We had a ward service project that turned out to be a lot like what Zach did for his Eagle Project. There was an abandoned Drug Rehab Center that had shut down a long time ago. They just left everything just piled up and locked the door and left it like that. Our job was to take EVERYTHING out and clean it all and put what was still usable back in. It turned out to be a bigger project than I had expected. Everything was covered in just gross dust and paint dust. Obviously drug rehab patients are the cleanest of clients and so there was quite a bit of cleaning that was necessary. Luckily we had a good turnout from the ward so there was a fair amount of help. Even so, it seemed like most of the men from the ward didn’t want to do a lot of heavy lifting so all of the members were ordering us around like “Elders do this, do that!” “Lift this, bring it over there!” “Elders, go get this or that and put it over there!” It was pretty funny, but I was glad we were needed and we were able to help out. Oh, I didn’t say that the rehab center is to be renovated and opened as a center for autistic children, so our back pain was for a super good cause.

We’re currently helping a Brazilian investigator with her dissertation for her Master’s degree. It is a 100 page paper of research and findings that has to be in English. The Elders had been working with her before I got here more, but since I got here, she’s been crunched for time on this project. Anyway, one of the cool ways we were able to serve her was to translate a summary part for her. It was pretty sophisticated actually, but I think we did a fair job. I don’t think everybody in her class has two Americans friends who speak perfect English and are willing to help at any time for free, haha! Hopefully, we can start working with her more after this project is over. Pray for her and that she can have a desire to come to church. She’s gold.

We also had a house check this week from couple missionaries from Coimbra. We had cleaned really hard and they were really impressed and gave a perfect on everything! We actually had a fair amount of mold in the bathrooms a few days before, but we put bleach in a spray bottle and sprayed it a couple times and it completely disappeared! We didn’t even have it wipe it or anything! It completely disintegrated!

So a really funny thing happened. We had a lesson with an older lady. She had invited her friend over so we taught her as well. It looked like the friend, M, wasn’t super interested and was pretty Catholic–“I was born Catholic, I’m gonna die Catholic.” We didn’t get her address so we didn’t know if we’d see her again. Right after the lesson we were knocking doors in the nearby area and we knocked a door and we totally found M! We saw her and all 3 of us just started laughing for like 5 minutes at the coincidence, haha! God guides our path when we use His time wisely.

Anyway, thanks for everything Mom and Dad. I’m so grateful to have wonderful parents like you guys. Thanks for all you do.

Love,

Elder Zwahlen

Oh, I forgot to say in my email that I’m super excited for the new bible translation in Portuguese! But at the same time, I won’t know where to find anything. I finally feel comfortable with it in Portuguese and I can find things and it could all change….. Hahaha, it’ll be an adventure

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

