Missionaries Introduce Tacos

IMG_6294SMALL

September 14, 2015 Leiria

Hey Mom and Dad!

This week was pretty eventful. Yesterday we had stake conference in Coimbra. It was a super-good conference and seriously EVERY speaker talked about the importance of keeping the Sabbath day holy! But probably the coolest part for me was seeing all of my member friends from Figueira da Foz and especially Castelo Branco! It was wonderful to see my recent convert from Castelo Branco there, and that she’s still active. Also there, was a less-active member from Castelo Branco who was such a good friend to me and I developed a really strong friendship with him. When I was there I had previously asked him to make a sketch for me and at stake conference he gave it to me; it is simply incredible. I’ll send you a pic of it but it just doesn’t do it justice. He is so gifted.

I also went to the doctor at a hospital this week. For the last month and a half I’ve been having bad neck pain, which inhibited me from rotating my neck as far as it should, but I figured for a long time that it would just go away, but it didn’t. It also made it hard to sleep because I couldn’t sleep on my stomach because I couldn’t turn my head to the side like normal. Anyway, a doctor’s two different medications for me to take each day. I’ve been taking these 2 for a few days and they are definitely helping. I can actually kind of turn to see behind me now! There’s still some stiffness and a little pain, but it should continue to improve, I expect.

I forgot to mention last week that our house is SO far away from the city and the chapel… It sits on the top of this mountain that overlooks the city. We always have to plan well when we head home so that we get home on time. The massive hill that we have to walk up at the end of the day is always a challenge, so I named it “Atonement Hill.” Each day it never ceases to humble us (and keep us in shape.)

We had a really good activity this week as well. The missionaries here do a lot of stuff. One of these being planning and carrying-out family night in the chapel each week. This week we had “taco night.” (Portuguese people have no idea what a taco or a burrito is…..taco actually means baseball bat, so it was kind of difficult to explain that we would be eating ‘tacos’, hehe). The sisters took care of the game and the spiritual thought and Elder M and I took care of all the food, which included making refried beans (you can’t buy refried beans here, you have to make them. Oh, and nobody knows what they are, haha), ground beef, homemade salsa, lettuce, and cheese in tortillas. Simple, but it felt like a lot of work because there were over 30 people there! It was the biggest family night the missionaries have had yet, so we’re going to keep trying to get everyone there and to invite their friends! It was nice to eat some Mexican food again too šŸ˜€

Because of the way transfers work out, I think my last day should be around June 22nd, which means next week will be my 9-months-left mark! Yay!

I love you all so much!
Have a marvelous week!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

