Transfer to Portalegre, near Spain

Portelegre 121415p1SMALL

November 24, 2015

Hey!
Hey so I don’t have tons of time right now, because I’M GETTING TRANSFERED! I’ll be serving in a place called Portalegre, and my companion will be Elder T.

So I made it safely to Portalegre! It’s a very unique place, that’s practically in Spain. There’s a lot of older people and it’s REALLY far from everything. It’s actually only a “group” here, so I am now the Group Leader, so that should be interesting. We don’t have a car yet, because neither Elder T nor I have a license yet, but here in a bit, we’ll get them. Hopefully it won’t be TOO stressful. I’ll be honest, it’s really cold here in Portalegre already and I think our house does not have insulation. I had forgotten what it was like to be cold. :/
I was really sad to leave Leiria…. I really enjoyed my time there. I loved the members so much and was super close to some of them. We had just found a super cool guy who was totally getting ready to be baptized! But, the work continues here.
We’ll see what we can do here with the members. We’re trying to start some family nights at the church back up. What I need is some ideas: games, activities, snacks, desserts, food, or anything else cheap that we can do to encourage the few members we have to show up and invite their friends.
Anyway. Elder T is chill. He’s from South Jordan, Utah, likes to snow board, skateboard, play sports, and do pretty much anything athletic. He’s in his 7th transfer. (I’m in my 12th now!)

Love, Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

