2nd Christmas in Portugal

Portalegre 120915p3SMALL

December 21, 2015 Portalegre, Portugal

Hey!

Merry Christmas! I sent you guys a couple things so I hope you get them soon!
So as far as Skype. I don’t even know what my skype name is but it’s probably my gmail. Just send me yours and I’ll call. I got permission to do it the day AFTER Christmas so I can see Zach too. I’m thinking about calling at 11:00am your time, so 6:00pm my time on the 26th. Does that work? Just email me and I’ll check to make sure it worked out.

This week was crazy! We did some pretty cool things. So remember how we made huge lists of all of the people that are members know so we would have people to work with? We used that list to see whom the members would want to invite to the Christmas party. After we had like 12 families, we went out with the family and went caroling with Santa hats and had the 9 year-old give the invites. It was really cool. We were even able to sing to the 9 year-old’s friends too. In the end none of the families showed up, but it doesn’t matter. It was a good first step to helping these families get to know us, the missionaries, in a non-threatening way. People are often really scared of us… although I’m pretty sure I’m almost more scared of them than they are of me!

Anyway, we did some fun activities, but I don’t have time to write them all this week so I’ll just tell you guys about them face to face the day after Christmas.
This mission is wonderful and passes soooo fast.

I love you all. This Christmas season is a perfect time to, in the words of Obi-wan Kenobi, “go home and rethink your life.” Use this special season to make needed changes in your lives. Remember the Savior and what he would do. I love you all!!!! Until Saturday!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

