The Power of Goals & Faith

Portalegre 011816 p9SMALL

January 25, 2016 Portalegre, Portugal

Hey Mom and Dad!
This week was good. I actually saw my own Blog (eldercoryzwahlen.wordpress.com) this week for the first time with an investigator. It’s super cool! I noticed it’s a little behind, so when you are feeling better, Mom, you should go and update it, or whoever is in charge of it. Thanks!

Okay, so, the week: It went quite well, and quickly. We went to Abrantes to watch the world-wide missionary broadcast with the rest of the District and the senior missionaries. I don’t have my notes with me, with most of the specifics, but I remember very well how I felt during the transmission. I felt empowered. The conference was about “Preaching repentance and baptizing converts.” The leaders of the church are so inspired. They always know exactly what the members in the world need at the right moments. They talked about the power of our calling and the importance of obedience and following the spirit. A lot of what was said were things that are outlined very well in Preach My Gospel. I liked the conference very much, as did the rest of the district.

This week I gained a stronger testimony of goals. The Zone and Mission have been focusing lately on finding new investigators. On Thursday, we passed by a member’s house at night and they invited us to eat dinner with them, but we told them we would have to leave to teach a lesson and then come back. It was pretty late and the zone goal was for each area to find one new investigator (which pretty much means you teach them a lesson and they want you to come back.) I really, really, wanted to reach this goal, but we hadn’t found anyone up until that point. We had 2 door-contact potentials that I felt we should go check on. I was praying tons that we would be able to teach the first one, in order to reach our goal of at least one new. Unfortunately, he wasn’t home, so we went to our alternative plan, a student.

We prayed fervently before we knocked on his door that we might be able to teach him. We knocked. He wasn’t home. We started praying again, and the names of some past investigators came into my mind. We had passed them countless times, but were never able to teach them. So, we went there on the prayer of faith and they were home. I knew after he answered the “who-is-it-box” that we were going to get in and the Lord had led us there. They had a lot of questions about the Plan of Salvation and what we believed, so we were able to have a fruitful lesson on the subject. I felt so guided. We were inspired because we prayed in faith for a righteous desire to reach our goals and find more people to teach. It was a remarkable and inspiring experience.

This week is going to be super crazy. There is a leadership conference for all of the leaders in the mission, including the district leaders and the senior missionaries, up in Porto. It will be 2 DAYS LONG. I have no idea what the conference will be about, but it should be pretty cool.

Well, thank you all for your love and support. Sorry everyone is sick. Hope you all feel better this week. I’ll pray for you. Thank you for your prayers. I know they help.

Love,

Elder Zwahlen

P.S. We contacted THE FUNNIEST GUY I HAVE EVER MET this week. He had talked to the Elders before and he told us he knew we were there to convert him, but that we shouldn’t worry because he had already auto-converted himself! What? We talked with him for quite a while, and we couldn’t stop laughing the whole time. He’s probably about 30, has a girlfriend and a little girl on the way. He was simply hilarious. We’ll go back and teach him and his girlfriend this week.

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

