We Don’t Drink Alcohol!

092815p6SMALL

January 11, 2016 Portalegre, Portugal

Hey Mom and Dad!!!

TRANSFERS! Yes, I’m still here in Portalegre, but Elder T got transferred to Figureira da Foz, my first area actually! I’m gonna miss him. We got along super well and it was a fun transfer, but I’m sure this one will be as well. I’m actually training again. This time he’s a Portuguese Elder, named Elder M. He’s from a city fairly close to Lisbon, called Carregado. He was actually born in Venezuela, and speaks fluent Spanish, so I’m gonna have him teach me some, so I can talk to all the Mexicans when I get home. His family are all members and he was born in the church. His call is actually to BOSTON, Spanish-speaking, but he’s just here for this transfer while waiting for his Visa. He hasn’t even gone to the MTC yet! He’s literally serving as a missionary in his home mission, in his home District! It’s cool to see how much he loves the people and wants to help this group grow.

Because he’s supposed to be in Boston, the mission didn’t have a credit card for him, and they haven’t succeeded in putting his money in my account yet, so I’m now like super in debt because of the gas to Porto and back, as well as a really expensive map the Mission President asked everyone to buy and now weekly food (we are still suffering from when Elder T disconnected the fridge by accident…..). So, that’s why I had to take out so much personal money. I’ll get it all back though, eventually.

My last day should be JUNE 20TH. I don’t know if that’s the day I go home or if that’s my last day in the field. We’ll see. It’ll all work out. It’d be wonderful to have Zach and Amy do a duet (vocal accompanied by organ) at my homecoming. I’m sure it will be amazing.

Our investigator, M_, is doing well. He’s already stopped smoking and he keeps going to church but he just doesn’t want to stop drinking coffee. He has a health condition, anemia, which is a problem with the Hemoglobin in your blood or something. But it makes you tired and M_ feels he can’t stop drinking coffee or he will be too tired to carry out his daily activities. We don’t really know how to help him understand the importance of the Word of Wisdom. Do you have any ideas of what we can do to help him?

This week was kind of crazy. On Tuesday we found out about the transfers, so later that day we drove up all the way up to Porto. I had nothing to do up there, so I went on a Division with one of the Elders I came in with. That was cool. There were a lot of missionaries up at the office, so I got to sleep in a really nice hotel. Whoohoo!

The next day we had the training meeting with President Amorim which was super inspiring and we got to meet our new comps. My comp was actually the only one that President Amorim already had matched before-hand.

Elder M already has his driver’s license, so I got out of driving another transfer! We drove back Wednesday night and slept in the Abrantes Elders’ house. We got to our area Thursday morning and passed a super old member on the way in. She tried to give us like everything in her house, either for us or for us to distribute — clothes, food, school books, all kinds of random stuff. We only got out of there by telling her there wasn’t any more room in the car! Haha, she’s a super cute old lady and doesn’t have a lot herself, but wants to serve others. It was really cool to see how easily she was able to give to others.

A really old man named Senhor J invited us in and asked me if I liked something. I didn’t really understand what he said. I thought he said ginger, like the root, and I’m used to telling people I like things, so I told him yes, I liked it. Then Elder M was like, “Elder! That’s alcohol! We don’t drink alcohol.” The man was actually referring to the alcoholic beverage, Ginger haha! Sometimes it really pays to have a Portuguese companion 🙂

Today was the first time I had to start the car wash machine by myself, and I was having problems with it. So I put down the pressure washer hose, to mess with it, to see if I could get it to work. Well, it started up. And I wasn’t holding it….. It blasted out of the holder like a rocket ship and it was flying around the washing bay while my comp and I tried to get hold of it. It happened on a really busy street corner, so I’m pretty sure some people saw! Eventually we got hold of it and washed the car 🙂

Aw, I almost forgot, thanks so much for your package of pudding boxes! The members love it!

I love you all! Have a great week!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

