Street Contacting With a New Companion

Portalegre 032816p7SMALL

April 4, 2016 Matosinhos, Portugal

Hey Mom and Dad!!!

So, BIG NEWS! I actually got transferred out of Portalegre!!! It’s way cool, but I’m really sad because neither the members nor I were expecting it. All the members were pretty sad to see me go, as was I…. The members and missionaries were so close in Portalegre. It really felt like family.

But now I’m here in MATOSINHOS! It’s a very large ward with 4 Elders and 2 Sisters. Wow! I’ve never experienced anything quite like it. It’s a very different feeling than my last área. So, Matosinhos is part of Porto and there are LOTS of people! More than in any other área in which I have served. For that I’m very, very grateful. And the people are so cool here! We’re having quite a bit of success in our contacts and my new companion, Elder S, and I teach really well together. He’s from Recife, Brazil and he’s really cool. It’s going to be good transfer.

We have a Brazilian investigator and she is sooooo elect. We finished teaching her everything this week and she was really excited to pay tithing. What a great example, I thought, for all of us as we remember why we pay tithing. The Lord doesn’t need our money; he wants our humility and our whole souls. He wants to bless us.

So, here in Matosinhos we’ve been having fun while contacting. We were walking on the sidewalk right above the beach and we saw some guy sleeping on the sand about 10 feet below. We thought, “Why not?” So, we looked over the edge of the railing and tried to talk to the man. He was asleep and didn’t wake up. So, we started yelling at him until he woke up, haha! We introduced ourselves from up above and he ended up telling us his number from his laying down position! It was hilarious too because he was like upside down to us, so just watching his mouth move made me laugh! We called him up afterwards and we actually marked an appointment with him for this week! It’s been a lot of fun.

The president told me to leave my mark on this ward here, so I should end up finishing my mission in this area. It’ll great to give my all here in this last area.

I love you Mom and Dad!

Elder Zwahlen

About Elder Zwahlen

Elder Cory Zwahlen is serving a 2-year proselyting mission in the Lisbon, Portugal area, for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He entered the Provo MTC on July 9, 2014. One of Elder Zwahlen's favorite scriptures is Alma 29:1-2 "O that I were an angel, and could have the wish of mine heart, that I might go forth and speak with the trump of God, with a voice to shake the earth, and cry repentance unto every people! Yea, I would declare unto every soul, as with the voice of thunder, repentance and the plan of redemption, that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be more sorrow upon all the face of the earth."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

